Sign in to follow this  
Figment-of-me

Discovering Nightwish - a personal journey

1 post in this topic

A while back I discovered Nightwish through a reaction video, probably to Ghost Love Score at Wacken 2013, possibly The Poet and the Pendulum at Wembly, 2016. Both excellent performances - GLS may be the best I have ever seen. The music is textured and multi-layered, backed by solid musicianship and performances. Compelling lyrics, the great energy of the crowd, and the amazing production value make these live videos perfect showcases for the band's great strengths.

I am no metalhead, but have appreciated both softer fare and certain bands and works from hard rock, metal, punk, ska, rap and grunge. As an amateur orchestral musician, I've accompanied many choral and opera singers, both amateur and professional. Now I feel I've been ready to discover Nightwish for some time. I regret not being introduced sooner!

What has haunted my spare moments and thoughts these last few weeks is the need to process the fact of Floor Jansen, the artist, and all this may imply in my internal world. Temporarily consumed, I have been lost in fantastical landscapes and waded some dangerous personal waters. How could this happen to me? Now with some distance and reflection, the answer is because yes, she is just that good. I'd been knocked off my moorings, set adrift. But this is potent psychoactive stuff, requiring parameters for safe handling, for which I offer the following.